Blue Apron Recipe Review – Seared Salmon & Salsa Verde

Last night was the first night of my new Blue Apron adventure! I was a bit nervous because I honestly wouldn’t have probably picked this kind of recipe to cook on my own as I get bored with seared salmon while eating it and if I ended up disliking the first thing I tried from Blue Apron I was going to be somewhat disappointed.

Well… I’m proud to say that either I’m a better cook than I thought or I’ve been wrong about ways to serve seared salmon because damn this was good.

Seared Salmon with Salsa Verde
Top: Obviously a photo from the professional photographers at Blue Apron | Bottom: My horrific looking version of their dish taken with a phone and bad lighting

The recipe can be found here. After reading all of the reviews to see what people thought or things people did differently, I altered the recipe in two small ways. 1. I cooked the farro for 20 minutes instead of 18. 2. After I was done cooking the shallot, I added the spinach to the pan and wilted it for about 90 seconds.

I have no idea how these altered the food at all, but I’m really skeptical of cooking grains because I never seem to cook them long enough and I had just put a room temperature diced orange into the farro and I didn’t want it to be super cold by the time the salmon was done. So, I heated up the spinach which has been refrigerated in hopes of keeping the farro salad warmer.

This dish was great. The portions were much larger than I thought it would be, so for $9.99 per serving I was satisfied. The salmon was super fresh and delicious. I call good salmon when seared “creamy” and it had that proper texture.

The farro salad was extremely good. The orange rind and diced orange made it very springy and fresh tasting. The pickled shallot made it savory. I ate every bite.

My husband devoured it. He loved it.


 

My rating is 5 out of 5 stars. I would definitely eat this again and if you want to make it you should visit the recipe linked above.

starstarstarstarstar


 

I also wanted to give a weight loss update! I’ve been tracking strictly. I weighed in on 1/4/2016 at 132.2 lbs. On 1/11/2016 I weighed in at 130.2. On 1/17/2016 I weighed in at 127.6 lbs. Today I weighed in at 125.6 with a total loss of 6.6 lbs.  WOO HOO! If you want to follow me on MyFitnessPal you can find me under the obscure username of: irun4pizza1211987

Leave a Comment