21 Day Yoga Challenge

I’ve gotten myself into a really good routine, workout wise. I signed up for a bunch of new classes I’ve never tried before and did some new things. I started going to yoga twice a week and my running has slowly started to extend again mileage-wise.

Now that January has almost ended and my knee is about 95% healed, it’s time to start thinking about phase two and what I want to do moving forward.

Now, I’ve thought about things quite a bit. I’ve enjoyed everything that I’ve tried, but because I have limited time and resources and I want to start running more soon I’ve decided it’s time to start narrowing my focus. I’ve made the final decision today that I am going to further my yoga practice and attempt to become intermediate at it. I am dropping the other classes for now to focus solely on yoga and running.

That being said, after making that decision I went out and bought myself an extra yoga mat (it’s a towel/mat combo since most of my yoga is hot yoga) and a brick. I am a lot more confident when I have a brick to help balance and extend my poses because if I’m being honest, some of them I can’t do fully unsupported yet.

I also downloaded Gaiam’s Yoga Studio app so I can do a bit of practice by myself at home and that’s when it hit me.

The app is awesome, and has pre-recorded classes for you to choose from if you don’t feel like making your own session. Naturally I’d rather be told what to do, so I looked through the “ready-made” classes and saw a “Quick Fix” section. Each of the practices are 10 minutes each and I thought, man that would be really great to do before bed.

Now, I am already upping my yoga practice to three times a week, but I want to challenge myself to do 10 minutes of yoga every night before I go to bed. If I can do it for 21 days in a row, it might become another healthy habit I can procure for myself on a daily basis.

Title: 21 Day Yoga Challenge

Summary: I will do 10 minutes of yoga every day before I go to bed for 21 days

Other Stipulations: I will try some of those harder yoga poses I posted about here

I will keep you posted!

Leave a Comment

