Meal Planning & Blue Apron Adventure!

I am a meal planner. That is, when I’m attempting to eat healthy I plan out what I’m eating morning, noon and night. My husband is a pescatarian and I’ll eat just about whatever, so coming up with meals that are healthy that we both will enjoy can be somewhat of a challenge.

I am a huge advocate and positive voice for Skinnytaste.com and everything Gina has done for me in the past to help me lose weight and eat healthy. I probably contribute to at least 5% of her monthly traffic and have probably attempted 1/4th of her recipes. That being said, I’ve decided it’s time to graduate to the next level of healthy meal planning.

Today I signed up for Blue Apron! I got a discount code from one of my favorite podcasters Stuff You Missed in History Class so the first two meals are free. I’m not going to give you the discount code because I highly suggest you check out their podcast and hear it for yourself.

Here is some information I got directly from their website so you can see what they’re all about.

Blue Apron delivers all the fresh ingredients you need to make delicious meals in exactly the right proportions.

We offer two plans, with no commitment or no fees, so you can prepare delicious, inventive meals at home. We do the menu planning and shopping, and deliver recipes right to your door with all the fresh, perfectly portioned ingredients you need to cook them. All you have to do is cook and enjoy! You can skip any week’s delivery in advance or cancel at any time.

Basically all this leaves me to do is prepare the actual meal, which is my favorite part.

Some CONS people have pointed out that I’m turning into PROS

I want to be able to choose my own meals

I’m tired of choosing meals! Have you ever asked your family what they want for dinner and they’re like, “I dunno.” Leaving you to be the only one ever hungry enough to just make the dang decision? Yeah, no thanks. Sure, I might get something I don’t like very much – but how do I know that unless I try it?

I don’t like this, this or this ingredient

Again, I am such an open-mind I’m afraid some days my brain my fall out. How many times have you gone to a restaurant and paid for a meal and it just didn’t taste very good? So. Many. Times. But again, I am so tired of cooking just my fall backs. Throw something new at me. If I don’t like it, I’ll chalk it up to a character flaw.

I wish the ingredients were already prepared

Have you ever tried to keep leftover chopped onion to maybe use later in the week? I have. Not only does it turn to disgusting mush, but it also stinks. If you want food that’s already prepared, buy frozen meals. I am WAY more than okay cutting, chopping, slicing and dicing. Cooking relaxes me. Well, either that or it’s the wine I drink while I do it!

Those are just a few of the complaints I saw across the web that I didn’t think were too bad. Overall, I spend way more than $240.00 a month on groceries for cooking and sometimes I can’t even find some of the ingredients I need to make the meals. I’m hoping in the long run this helps me save time and money.

I get my first box of meals on the 16th, so I’ll try to review the experience and recipes going forward from there.

Cheers to fun New Year’s decisions!

Leave a Comment

