Happy New Year!

Well, it’s January 1st, 2016. I personally have made it through y2k and el nino, so I suppose this is a time to celebrate.

“Hey Rachael, what exciting parties did you go to last night?” You ask me, as I looked a bit bright-eyed and bushy-tailed the morning of the first.

“Oh, I didn’t! I ate Mexican seafood fajitas, drank a GIANT beer and went to bed.” I respond.

I had been planning on ringing in the new year with some sweat. I booked a hot yoga session for 9am and I’m heading to the gym after that. After months of feeling sorry for myself I decided that since I can’t run I might as well get strong in other areas.

I guess this would be a good time to explain how I in-fact got injured in the first place, so let me begin.

2015 was a very prosperous year when it comes the fitness corner of my life. (Health would be added in there, but maybe someday I will explain to you the hunger, or as I call runger, that consumes you during ultra marathon training.)

I trained and decently completed my first 50 mile endurance run this year. During the process of completing one registered 50k and one self-aided 30 mile run. It was a very high-cardio year.

However, I did something very, very stupid. I got cocky. Getting cocky as a runner can be dangerous. I got cocky with my eating vs. calorie burn and I got cocky with my fitness level. While I am a fairly talented runner, I do nothing but run. This isn’t necessarily a good thing.

Two weeks after my 50 mile race (which I did in 10:42) I attempted to do a road marathon and severely pulled my left lateral ligament. The one that runs passed  my knee. The one that doesn’t necessarily hurt with pressure but when use, aka when I just bend my leg in general. Yeah, I really mucked it all up.

I tried swimming, but the pure motion seared with pain. So I took quite some time off. Did a lot of hiking and walking, which still hurt, but I had to strengthen my healing leg. When the pain was far between and manageable I started doing yoga again. At this point today I can run and I can be pretty aggressive but I cannot perform a run longer than about 7 miles without pain. It’s been about 3 months, so I’d say that’s fairly good progress.

Moral of the story: don’t get cocky

That being said, this opportunity to not be able to lose all of my calories by running I have discovered some new things that I really like. I really like yoga, more specifically hot yoga. I really like using the elliptical, and it’s a machine I can thank a lot of my recovery for. I really like this YMCA class called Body Pump which is a very ‘Jillian Michaels’ type cardio+lifting/weights class with a lot of good energy.

I am dedicating 2016 to not just getting in shape for running, but getting stronger all through-out my body.

If you’re into that kind of thing and want to watch what I’m up to, I have  calendar in the sidebar. It’ll display what workouts and classes I have planned for the week.

Leave a Comment

